Books

A Shifting Of Stars|Blog Tour & Review

A squandering emperor. A handsome stranger. A reluctant heroine. And the ancient magic that will capsize a kingdom.

Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.

Thank you to Caffeine Book Tours blog tour and Kathy Kimbray for my review copy of A Shifting of Stars and choosing me to be a part in this tour!

You can take part in the giveaway that’s at the end of my review.

My review

We are following Meadow, as she deals with her mother’s death and is accused of treason.

This book was beautifully written. It is in first person perspective which gives much depth and detail to the character of Meadow. I really liked learning about the world and how it was ruled.

I understood the characters and the hardships that they faced. I wanted to protect them. I think the characters were well developed and I was rooting for them. I really loved Meadow as a character as I could see how much she was hurting and blamed the regime for her mothers death. I liked how she really cares about Anai and looks out for her. I also loved learning about Vogel and thought he was a very interesting character. The side characters are also well developed and we get to learn a lot about them.

I really liked the romance in the book as it was slow paced and done very well. It wasn’t rushed and it took time for feelings to develop which I loved. It was not romance heavy.

The plot was just the right pace.I was engaged with the story throughout and there was not a moment that something wasn’t happening. I did not see the twist coming in the middle of the book and was pleasantly shocked. I did not expect it to go there at all and I think it was done very well. It was very different to other books.

I would have loved to know about how the magic system worked in more detail but I’m looking forward to delving into that in the next book.

I really liked this story and highly recommend it. I think even if your not a fantasy lover this is a book that you’d enjoy as it’s not very hard to get into and you’ll fly through it.

4.5/5

Book links:

Amazon — https://amzn.to/2MwBk3x

Goodreads — https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44303513-a-shifting-of-stars

About the Author

Kathy Kimbray is a YA author from Australia. After graduating from the University of Technology, Sydney, with a degree in Media Arts and Production, she went on to complete postgraduate studies in education and spent many years as a primary school teacher.

Now a full-time novelist, Kathy is lucky to be able to tell stories every day.Aside from writing, Kathy is an avid reader, dancer, language learner, musical theatre enthusiast and fan of terrible reality TV. She lives with her husband in Sydney, and dreams of one day owning that elusive chateau in France.

Author website — https://www.kathykimbray.com/

Goodreads — https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18942436.Kathy_Kimbray

Instagram — https://www.instagram.com/kathykimbray/

Facebook — https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKathyKimbray

Twitter — https://twitter.com/kathykimbray

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION
Prize: One (1) signed paperback copy of A Shifting of Stars and one (1) Amazon gift card worth 10 USD (two winners:
one for the paperback, one for the gift card)
Scope: Open worldwide/internationally

13 thoughts on “A Shifting Of Stars|Blog Tour & Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s